Daft Punk Share First Song from “Random Access Memories” 10th Anniversary Edition

Daft Punk at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards in 2014
Daft Punk at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards in 2014. Photo by Broadimage/Shutterstock (3529935jf)

Despite announcing their split in 2021, Daft Punk still have a few tricks up their sleeves. The 10th-anniversary edition of their last album Random Access Memories is on the way, and they teased its release by dropping a bonus track “The Writing of Fragments of Time”.

This track was recorded at the legendary Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles in 2012, and it captures “intimate moments of creation” between Daft Punk and their longtime collaborator Todd Edwards.

“The lyrics written that day were from the perspective of the collaborators’ future selves speculating how they would feel in the future as if remembering this specific creative moment thereby creating a narrative of future nostalgia,” reads the duo’s official statement.

“The Writing of Fragments of Time” was released as the first single from the anniversary reissue of Random Access Memories. This album will feature 35 minutes of bonus material, including unreleased demos and outtakes.

Random Access Memories was originally released in 2013, and it produced hit singles “Get Lucky” and “Lose Yourself to Dance” featuring Pharrell Williams, and collaborations with Giorgio Moroder, Panda Bear, Julian Casablancas, and Todd Edwards. Its 10th-anniversary edition will hit the shelves on May 12, and it’s the duo’s first release since their split in 2021.