Rock Supergroup Muzz Announces New Project

Muzz will have another project out in 2020 after presenting their self-titled debut back in June. The rock supergroup, which consists of Interpol’s frontman Paul Banks, The Walkmen’s drummer Matt Bricks, and songwriter/producer Josh Kaufman, announced they are preparing a new extended play focused on covers. The EP is set to drop on December 9th.

Covers will consist out of four tracks and will see the trio playing their versions of Bob Dylan’s “Girl From the North Country,” Mazzy Star’s “Fade Into You,” Tracy Chapman’s “For You,” and “Nobody Wants a Lonely Heart” from Arthur Russell.

As part of the announcement, Muzz shared their rendition of “Nobody Wants a Lonely Heart” on streaming platforms. Hear it below.

“Nobody Wants a Lonely Heart” was originally presented on Russell’s posthumous 2008 release Love Is Overtaking Me.

Muzz was formed in 2015, with Banks, Bricks, and Kaufman deciding to turn their off-the-scene friendship into a creative collaboration. Since then, the band worked occasionally on material for an album before entering the studio in 2020 and finishing Muzz.

The band’s debut studio effort was met with positive reviews from the critics, who praised the album’s sound. The record, however, wasn’t a big commercial hit and managed to peak on No.96 on US Top Album Sales charts.