Wilco Announce New Album “Ode to Joy,” Share First Single

Jeff Tweedy of Wilco at NorthSide Festival 2016. Photo by Hell Gate Media/Shutterstock (5738313i)

After three years of studio break, Wilco is finally plotting a release of a new album. The Chicago rockers recently announced that their new record, titled Ode to Joy, will be out on October 4th. This new album will mark the group’s 11th studio release and first since 2016’s Schmilco.

Ode to Joy is available for pre-order as of now and comes in several different editions including CD, standard vinyl, and custom colored LP. All the fans who get the album during the pre-order period will also receive the first single from the album “Love Is Everywhere (Beware).”

“There MUST be more love than hate. Right?! I’m not always positive we can be so sure,” said Wilco’s frontman Jeff Tweedy of the song in a statement. “In any case, I’m starting to feel like being confident in that equation isn’t always the best motivation for me to be my best self – it can kind of let me off the hook a little bit when I think I should be striving to contribute more love outside of my comfortable sphere of family and friends. So. . . I guess the song is sort of a warning to myself that YES, Love IS EVERYWHERE, but also BEWARE! I can’t let that feeling absolve me of my duty to create more.”

Following the release of Ode to Joy, Wilco will then embark on a tour in support of the album. The band has scheduled dates in Europe, United Kingdom, and North America so far.