Pixies Share Unreleased Demos from Beneath The Eyrie Sessions

Pixies perform in Glasgow, Scotland in 2017. Photo by Rmv/REX/Shutterstock (9069583g)

American alternative rockers Pixies decided to treat their fans with more new songs, despite releasing their most recent studio album Beneath The Eyrie in September. The group recently made a return to the album’s recording sessions and now shared a three-track EP, which contains unreleased demos that didn’t make it on the original.

Beneath The Eyrie Demos: Part 1 was officially made available on all streaming platforms, including Spotify and YouTube. The tracks on the release are: “The Good Works Of Cyrus,” “Please Don’t Go” and “Chapel Hill.” Hear them below.

Considering that the name of the EP contains the “Part 1” label, we should probably get several more of these with more unreleased stuff from Beneath The Eyrie sessions. The album, which was the band’s seventh, was recorded at one New York church converted into a music studio. This influenced both the sound of the record and the writing process according to frontman Black Francis.

The LP ended up receiving positive reviews from the critics, being considered the band’s best work since they reformed in 2004. It peaked at number six at the US Billboard 200, while cracking the top 10 in several European countries.