Janelle Monáe Announces Album “The Age of Pleasure”, Drops New Single “Lipstick Lover”

Janelle Monae at the Vanity Fair Oscar Party in 2018
Janelle Monae at the Vanity Fair Oscar Party in 2018. Photo by Owen Kolasinski/BFA/REX/Shutterstock (9448708bn)

Janelle Monáe has been hinting she’s working on new music for quite some time and she finally made things official. She announced her new album The Age of Pleasure and gave us a taste of things to come with the lead single “Lipstick Lover”.

The Age of Pleasure will mark Monáe’s first album in five years, and she told Apple Music 1’s Zane Lowe that the songs on this album were written from “such an honest space” because she had the opportunity to evolve and grow and to tap into the things that bring her pleasure.

Monáe ushered in a new era with her latest single “Lipstick Lover”, and this track perfectly encapsulates the vibe of the entire album.

“As we enter into The Age Of Pleasure, ‘Lipstick Lover’ is our freea—mothaf—a anthem inspired by f.a.m. for f.a.m. This is our oasis made with love, rooted in self-acceptance, throbbing in self-discovery, and signed with cherry red kisses from me to you,” she said in a statement.

The Age of Pleasure will be released on June 9 via Atlantic Records, and it marks the singer’s first studio album since Dirty Computer in 2018. The standard edition will feature a total of 14 tracks, including “Lipstick Lover” and “Float” featuring Seun Kuti and Egypt 80.