Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell Win the Academy Award for “No Time To Die”

Billie Eilish and Finneas O'Connell, winners of Best Original Song
Billie Eilish and Finneas O'Connell, winners of Best Original Song "No Time To Die" from "No Time To Die" at the 94th Academy Awards. Photo by John Angelillo/UPI/Shutterstock (12869470q)

This year’s Academy Awards were one wild ride and they featured several pretty amazing musical moments. Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell gave us one of the very best and they picked up the award for the best original song for “No Time To Die”.

The brother-sister duo was an obvious front-runner for this prestigious award after winning a slew of other trophies for writing the latest James Bond theme song. This victory comes shortly after they managed to pick up a Golden Globe and Critics’ Choice Movie Award in the same category. “No Time To Die” was also rewarded with a Grammy Award for the best song written for visual media.

Eilish and O’Connell managed to beat a tough competition on Sunday night, including “Be Alive” from King Richard by Beyoncé, “Dos Oruguitas” from Encanto by Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Down to Joy” from Belfast by Van Morrison, and “Somehow You Do” from Four Good Days by Diane Warren.

Van Morrison’s “Down to Joy” was the only song not performed during the live broadcast because the artist couldn’t attend the ceremony due to his tour schedule. Beyoncé was in charge of opening the ceremony with “Be Alive”, while the cast of Encanto delighted the audience with a performance of smash hit “We Don’t Talk About Bruno” alongside Megan Thee Stallion, Becky G, and Luis Fonsi.